Newbie : Advice on northern France?

Here's a place to talk about how to choose an area in France which will suit you.

Newbie : Advice on northern France?

Postby belindamary » Tue 10 Apr 2007 01:15

Hi there, I'm a newbie on this French forum.

That's because at the moment I live in a village in southern Spain, which is great. However we are beginning to get itchy feet and would like our next move to be in about two year's time to a holiday home (but one where we could spend several months at a time) in northern France.
We should have (at today's prices) around 100,000 euros cash budget.

What could we get for this, if anything, we are not terribly fussy but it must have at least two bedrooms and mains electricity/water. We would prefer a town or village location (not an isolated farmhouse). We don't mind doing some work but it must be habitable. It doesn't have to be a house, a chalet or mobile home would be considered if it is the right price and in the right place. We would prefer that it wasn't an apartment.

I know the cost of living is more in France than in Spain, but what sort of taxes are we looking to be paying?

What areas would you recommend giving these constraints?

I speak very basic French (from schooldays).

Any advice at all will be gratefully received.
belindamary
Free member

Postby ruggie » Tue 10 Apr 2007 18:29

There's quite a selection of suitable stuff. Just search on 'real estate france' and search several agents' sites for village property in your preferred regions. In 5 mins I came up with a 3-bed house in Moselle which is currently being let furnished, so it must be habitable. Looks quite nice, too.
Whether you live in France, or just find the country interesting http://www.franceforfreebooters.com/201 ... nts-up-50/
ruggie
Supporter

Postby Jazzman » Tue 08 May 2007 08:37