Need some help with email form processor

Here's where to post all those technical queries and problems which aren't Internet-related.

Need some help with email form processor

Postby gotcha » Tue 11 Oct 2005 16:25

Hey guys,
I've found a mailform processor on google, but I dont know how to add a big text field, instead of the small ones I get when I use the mail-maniac example;

<form name="formname" method="post" action="http://www.[mailform processor].com" enctype="multipart/form-data">
<input type="hidden" name="mailto" value="mailto(at)address.com">
<input type="hidden" name="from" value="mailfrom(at)address.com">
<input type="hidden" name="subject" value="Subject line">
<input type="hidden" name="fromname" value="Your name">
<input type="hidden" name="goto" value="http://www.thankyoupage.com">
<input type="text" name="sometextfield"><br />
<input type="text" name="anothertextfield"><br />
<input type="file" name="filename"><br />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="Submit"><br /><br/>
<a href="http://www.[mailform processor].com" target="_blank"><font size="1" face="Verdana">[mailform processor], free HTML email form processor</font></a>
</form>


I get two small textboxes, but I need one big textbox. How do I manage to get this textbox?

grz

[Links and URLs removed by Site Admin. - Dave]
gotcha
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 11 Oct 2005 16:22

Postby Dave » Tue 11 Oct 2005 16:47

It should be pretty straightforward. Just replace the two lines:

Code: Select all
<input type="text" name="sometextfield"><br />
<input type="text" name="anothertextfield"><br />


with this one:

Code: Select all
<input type="text" name="sometextfield" size="30[or your preferred textfield width in characters]" maxlength="1024[or some other maximum length in characters]" /><br />


Enter your preferred values for size and maxlength in place of the text in square brackets.

(I've deleted the URL of the mailform processor and the link to it from your posting above as our guidelines don't allow newcomers to post links. Nothing personal, but we've had too many people joining up just to promote their own site, product or service - so we have to take a tough line. :wink: )
British Newspapers Online - your handy guide to the UK's national, regional and local press!
ErgoGuides - Great travel and business eBooks from British Expat!
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7267
Joined: Tue 21 Jan 2003 15:04
Location: Currently UK

Postby Savannah_Alan » Wed 12 Oct 2005 02:43

If you want a multi-line text box, then you should use the <textarea /> tag rather than the <input /> tag. You can set the rows and columns like this:

<textarea name="txtName" cols="45" rows="7">Default text goes in here</textarea>

You query the form parameters as you would a normal text box on the other end like this:

(ASP Version)
PassedValue=Request("txtName")

(PHP Version)
$PassedValue=$_REQUEST['txtName']

Alan.
Don't forget, there's much going on at the main site: http://www.britishexpat.com
The Safe Scooter Riding blog. www.ScootSafely.com
User avatar
Savannah_Alan
Supporter
 
Posts: 1824
Joined: Thu 23 Jan 2003 00:46
Location: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA - Originally from Southend-On-Sea, Essex.

Postby Dave » Wed 12 Oct 2005 09:22

Savannah_Alan wrote:If you want a multi-line text box, then you should use the <textarea /> tag rather than the <input /> tag.


D'oh! Silly me. Thanks, Alan.
British Newspapers Online - your handy guide to the UK's national, regional and local press!
ErgoGuides - Great travel and business eBooks from British Expat!
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7267
Joined: Tue 21 Jan 2003 15:04
Location: Currently UK


Return to Computers and IT



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron